Skip to content

Remembering 9/11/2001, On 9/11/2012

September 11, 2012

Today most of us will be asked where they were and what they were doing when they found out that the United States was under attack. We all will remember the horrific events of that day.

As for me, I was on the phone with my doctors office, (on hold) and they had “3WS” a Pittsburgh radio station playing while you wait. The song was interrupted and the DJ said, “We now turn the station over to ABC New York.” I ask my wife to turn on the television and it happened to be on channel 4 WTAE the Pittsburgh affiliate station of ABC. Peter Jennings was describing what had happen and there was the South Tower smoking. I watched dumbfounded. It was with in a half hour of the set being turn on, the second shock happened. I was glued to the television and it looked like the tower was falling and it was.

More Below

(9:30 am) I was on my way into Washington Pennsylvania listening to the events of the attack on the radio. As I entered the city limits I had an eerie feeling come over me as I drove down an empty street, which was usually packed at that time of the day. When I turned into the parking lot behind the Center the security guard stopped me and told me that all Government buildings were locked down. I ask if new when they would be open again and he told me that I would have to call the next day.

That night Peggy and I went to a friend’s house, which was something we would always do on Tuesday evening and discuss the girl’s softball team we coached. As we sat around the campfire drinking a few beers, the conversation was not on softball that night. In fact it was about something that happened so much that normally we never noticed it. However, that night it was hard not to notice the lack of air traffic. (My friends place is in line with the airport runways at Pittsburgh International and planes were always flying over.) As the night wound down we noticed one lone jet fighter flying overhead, and I remarked how eerie the whole day was.

So that was my memories of 9/11/2001. It was nothing spectacular but is a feeling I never want to experience again. Although I learned, as a husband and a father you must be prepared for anything that could happen. However, as a citizen of the United States I learned, without a moments notice you can lose your rights and most of the citizenry will give them up for a “False Sense of Security”

ABA

No comments yet

Let us know what you think.

