Skip to content

‘Tis The Season For Scams and Rip Offs. Fa-la-la-la-la-la,la,la

December 4, 2010

Just a quick reminder this is one of the busiest seasons for rip-off scams and not just on the internet. A friend of mine sent me an email about one of the latest scams right at the checkout counters at the retail stores.

It seems that when some customers at Wally-World checked out, they found that their receipts showed that they got cash back when really they did not. The cashier would say, it was the Swipe-Pad acting up if they were questioned. In the cases below the customers questioned and did not accept the excuse that the Swipe-Pad was the culprit.

The following exerpt is from the Email I received form Rachie. I formatted it so it was easier to follow fron the email format.

CHECK YOUR RECEIPTS BEFORE LEAVING ANY CASHIER’S STATION!!!!!

THIS COULD HAPPEN ANYWHERE. CHECK YOUR RECEIPT
BEFORE LEAVING THE STAND. I’VE SEEN PEOPLE DO JUST THAT.
PASS THIS ON TO YOUR FRIENDS, KIDS, LOVED ONES.

It happened at Wal-Mart (Supercenter Store #1279,
10411 N Freeway 45, Houston , TX 77037 a month ago.
I bought a bunch of stuff, over $150, & I glanced at my receipt as the
cashier was handing me the bags. I saw a cash-back of $40. I told her I didn’t request a cash back & to delete it.

She said I’d have to take the $40 because she couldn’t delete it. I told
her to call a supervisor. Supervisor came & said I’d have to take it! I said NO! Taking the $40 would be a cash advance against my Discover & I wasn’t paying interest on a cash advance!!!!! If they couldn’t delete it then they would have to delete the whole order.
So the supervisor had the cashier delete the whole order & re-scan
everything!

The second time I looked at the electronic pad before I signed & a
cash-back of $20 popped up. At that point I told the cashier & she deleted it. The total came out right. The cashier agreed that the electronic pad must
be defective. (yeah, right!) Obviously the cashier knew the electronic pad wasn’t defective because she NEVER offered me the $40 at the beginning.
Can you imagine how many people went through before me and at the end of her shift how much money she pocketed?

Just to alert everyone. My coworker went to Milford , DE Wal-Mart last
week. She had her items rung up by the cashier. The cashier hurried her along and didn’t give her a receipt. She asked the cashier for a receipt and the cashier was annoyed and gave it to her.
My coworker didn’t look at her receipt until later that night. The receipt
showed that she asked for $20 cash back. SHE DID NOT ASK FOR CASH BACK!

My coworker called Wal-Mart who investigated but could not see the cashier pocket the money. She then called her niece who works for the bank and her niece told her this. This is a new scam going on. The cashier will key in that you asked for cash back and then hand it to her friend who is the next person in line.

Please, please, please check your receipts right away when using credit or debit cards! This is NOT limited to Wal-Mart, although they are the largest retailer so they have the
most incidents.

So this is just one of thousands of scams out there, people have thought up to separate you from your money. Remember that senior citizens are the biggest targets of the lowlifes, so talk with grandmother and grandfather, and Mom and Dad, let them know about this latest scam.

Let us know what you think.

