Skip to content

The Question is Who Threatened Martial Law

December 15, 2008

While I was watching “60 Minutes”, when the piece on Barney Frank came on, and they got into the way he handled the writing of the Financial Bailout with Secretary Paulson. (You know the bill that was written, which gave Paulson complete control over the dispersing of the money.) While they were talking about the way Frank is nicknamed, Saber Tooth Tiger and how he attacks, for what he believes in. Now with that in mind I can move on.

While that piece was on, I remembered how California Rep. Brad Sherman said that members of congress were threatened that if the Bailout Bill didn’t pass the second time a round there would be martial law. However, he did not tell who made these threats. I really doubt that he will, if he wants to remain in good health, or hold on to his position. I wrote on the threat in Did the Bankers Threaten …. Now what I was thinking, and remember I have no evidence to back this assertion., however it seems to points to one of two people, or maybe both, Barney Frank and/or Secretary Paulson.

Below are snipits from Brad Sherman’s press release.

Washington, D.C. – On Thursday, October 2nd, I stated on the floor of the House of Representatives that, “The only way they can pass this bill is by creating and sustaining a panic atmosphere. That atmosphere is not justified. Many of us were told in private conversations that if we voted against this bill on Monday, that the sky would fall, the market would drop two or three thousand points the first day and a couple of thousand the second day, and a few members were even told that there would be martial law in America if we voted no. That’s what I call fear mongering, unjustified, proven wrong.”

Now the part of the press release below shows a total turn around from the way he presented it at the debate on the floor. I feel that he was threatened and had to back down. There again, who did it?

Speaking during the second House debate on the bailout bill, I was describing what I regarded as the increasingly unbelievable things that had been said while the House considered the bailout package – extreme things put forward as reasons why Congress had to pass that bill right away.

I urged my colleagues not to take the extreme statements seriously and urged them to defeat the bill. It should be clear from the context of my speech that I did not believe that martial law would be declared under any circumstances and I did not think that such absurd and outlandish comments should cause members to vote for the bill.

Please watch this video again and decide for yourself if he was putting forward that threats were being used to try and get this bill passed.

There is more below the video.

Now I know some of you probably think this doesn’t matter, but if I am right it now becomes proof we are not represented, but can be threatened with out any recourse. I think a friend of mine put best when she said, “They don’t have to sell a product anymore, we are being forced to pay for it. They have cutout the middle man.”

ABA

No comments yet

Let us know what you think.

