Skip to content

What if that Scenario were too Happen

September 16, 2007

This morning about 3:00 AM we lost the power to this section of the power grid, and when I rolled out of bed at 6:00 AM I realized just how dependent we have become to electricity.

As I stumbled around in the dark headed to the bathroom, I found a flashlight that turned out to be very dim, but gave off enough light that I didn’t stub my toe on any corner. After answering nature’s call, I washed my hands and made my way to the kitchen only to discover that there would be no coffee and a cold bowl of Rice Crispies for breakfast. Before pouring the milk over old Snap, Crackle, and Pop, I figured I would need to find a candle because the flash in my light was gone.

As I maneuvered around the house looking for a few candles I found the dog’s squeaky toy and it scared the life out of me. I also discovered that out of the fifteen thousand candles in our house, none are meant to actually be lit. So being the quick thinking person that I am, I headed for the junk drawer.

There I found, the keys to every car, and lock we had ever owned, a hundred empty pens and mechanical pencils, a combination lock, and a needle and thread. (I found that the hard way.) Just as I was getting ready to move on ‘I saw it’, a pack of trick birthday candles leftover from my 40th birthday party. As I pulled open the tab, I noticed that some of the candles had melted together forming…, well a mess. I took the pack of candles and turned them upside down empting the contents back into the draw to find five lose candles. So I grabbed the candles, and a lone band-aid that was lying in the bottom of the drawer, and headed for the table to eat.

Now reaching the Table I found myself in another dilemma, how to hold the candles upright after lighting them. So, I clicked the flashlight back on, and with the last pale yellow flicker of light, I saw a bag of mini-chocolate doughnuts on the counter. So I walked over to the counter, (finding that damn squeaky toy again) and removed five melted chocolate mini-doughnuts and returned to the table.

After setting down once more I placed the five trick candles in the center of the five melted mini-doughnuts. With that task complete, I placed the candles around the bowl of cereal and proceeded to pour the milk over Snap, Crackle, and Pop. As I sat eating my cereal, my wife entered the kitchen carrying the rechargeable Coleman lantern that I had bought just for this occasion. (This by the way was in the bedroom closet, which I had opened to get my robe.) As she stood there staring at me, setting there with five candles in the Mini-chocolate doughnuts, (which she said resembled a pentagram.) she walked over set the lantern down and went back to bed.

On a serious note, I did realize some things that we will need “If & When” the shit hit’s the fan. Now by law you can only have a thirty-day supply of some items, or to the government you are hording. Now how will they know who is doing what. That is where the National ID comes into play. Soon every transaction you make you will have to show your National ID. As it stands now, you cannot do any government business without the ID, or make purchases. As I have pointed out before the ID is connected to a database that is connected directly to the Office of Home Land Security. By doing this they can keep track of all sales, money transfers, and so on.

So here is what I have figured we will need to get, and do before the ID Act goes into affect. To start, you will need at least a 30-day supply of water and non-perishable food. In my case, coffee and a pot that does not need electric to operate. Also learn to grow food. Contrary to what most kids think, food does not come from the Super Wal-Mart.

You will need to get a generator and a generous supply of fuel. Make sure you have a grill of some sort. You need to stock up on propane. You can cook and heat with it. I also have a kerosene heater. (It gets nippy here.) If you can afford it, you should get a water purification system.

Last but not least, you are going to protect yourself and your loved ones when you are the only one in the neighborhood that did this and the shit hit’s the fan.

ABA

No comments yet

Let us know what you think.

